102 Visa-Free Destinations for South Africans


Powered by the International Air Transport Association (IATA), in-house research and expert commentary, Henley & Partners has released its latest Henley Passport Index. The report ranks passports from every country around the world according to the number of countries its holders can travel to without a visa.

According to its website, “the Henley Passport Index is the most rigorous and sophisticated measure of global access. It goes beyond a simple ranking of passports to provide you with an in-depth picture of your travel freedom, including which countries you can access with which type of visa”.

Having looked at 199 different passports and 227 different travel destinations, Japan was ranked the highest, with its passport-holders having access to an incredible 189 destinations.

In joint-second position were Singapore and Germany and these countries were followed by Finland, France, Italy, South Korea, Spain and Sweden.

South Africa ranked 50th on the list, with South African passport-holders having visa-free access to 102 countries. South Africa has, however, shown a decrease in the travel freedom its passport affords citizens.

Among the African countries that are experiencing a reduction in the travel freedom associated with their passports is South Africa. Since reaching its highest rank of 35th globally in both the 2008 and 2009 Henley Passport Index listings, South Africa has dropped 15 places, now occupying 50th place overall,” says Ryan Cummings, Director of political and security risk-management consultancy firm Signal Risk.

In fact, sub-Saharan Africa experienced a decline in the 2018 year-to-date ranking, while over the past decade, the majority of the continent’s countries have fallen in the rankings.


Countries South Africans can travel to visa-free

* Visa on arrival ** eTA
Middle East
Angola Cambodia * Ireland Cook Islands Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia *
Benin * Hong Kong (SAR China) Kosovo Fiji Bahamas Belize Georgia
Botswana Indonesia Russian Federation Marshall Islands * Barbados Bolivia * Iran *
Cape Verde Islands * Kyrgyzstan * Micronesia British Virgin Islands Brazil Israel
Comores Islands * Laos * Niue Cayman Islands Chile Jordan *
Djibouti * Macao (SAR China) Palau Islands * Dominica Costa Rica Oman *
Ethiopia * Malaysia Samoa Dominican Republic Ecuador Palestinian Territory
Gabon Maldives * Tuvalu * Grenada El Salvador Qatar
Ghana * Nepal * Vanuatu Haiti Falkland Islands Turkey *
Guinea-Bissau * Philippines Jamaica Guatemala
Kenya Singapore Montserrat Guyana
Lesotho South Korea St. Kitts and Nevis Honduras
Madagascar * Sri Lanka * St. Lucia Nicaragua
Malawi Tajikistan * St. Vincent and the Grenadines Panama
Mauritania * Thailand Trinidad and Tobago Paraguay
Mauritius Timor-Leste * Turks and Caicos Islands Peru
Mozambique Uruguay
Namibia Venezuela
Rwanda *
Seychelles *
Somalia *
St. Helena *
Togo *
Uganda *
Benin *



Share post:



More like this

Capturing the plight of the Great White

From capturing the flight of South Africa's Great White...

Australia by train 

One of the world’s most beautiful and luxurious rail...

Beat the Schengen visa blues

The rejection rate for African applicants seeking Schengen visas...

Contiki adds nine new adventures to its line up

Contiki has added nine brand new trips to its...